Adil Najam, Ayesha Jalal, Hasan Askari Rizvi, Bano Qudsia, Javed Ghamdi, Asma Jahangir and Talib Jauhri Honored - Excellent Selection of Intellectuals

Civil awards conferred on prominent personalities
Friday, August 14, 2009

ISLAMABAD: On the Independence Day, President Asif Ali Zardari has conferred civil awards on prominent personalities for their meritorious services in various fields. Hilal-i-Imtiaz was awarded to fiction writer Bano Quddsia and human rights activist Asma Jahangir.

Sitara-i-Imtiaz was conferred on writer Professor Ayesha Jalal; Professor Hasan Askari, an independent political and defence analyst; late film actor Syed Musa Raza (Santosh Kumar); veteran broadcaster late Syed Salim Gilani; intellectual Hanif Ramay (late); artist Jamil Naqsh; Resident Editor of The News, Peshawar, Rahimullah Khan Yusufzai; Asad Umar from Sindh; AK Khan for his pioneering works in the horticultural sector; Dr Javed Ahmed Ghamidi for his contributions to Islamic philosophy; scholar Allama Talib Johri and scholar Professor Rasul Bakhsh Rais.

Also, Award for Pride of Performance was given to writer Fehmida Riaz; writer Masud Mufti; Group Editor of Jang Mahmood Shaam; Atta Muhammad Kakar for promoting sports activities in Balochistan; Pakistan cricket team captain Younus Khan; and artist Najmi Sura. Besides Tamgha-i-Imtiaz was awarded to Akbar Khameesu Khan.

Also See: Sitara-e-Imitiaz for Prof. Adil Najam - All Things Pakistan

For complete list, click here


Popular posts from this blog

Saudi Arabia's ban on Umra Visa for Pakistanis under age 40

Difference Between India and Pakistan?

What Pakistan needs to do for effective and sustainable counterterrorism - Herald (January 2015)